Skip to content

What’s the story?

July 24, 2010

Everything that I read indicates that part of good marketing is to tell your story.  Etsy.com is constantly telling sellers how important it is to write a product description with a good story.  Apparently, good stories, told well, help to engage potential clients and let them know a little about the maker of that product; uninteresting descriptions supposedly turn people away.  I understand this theory, I do.  It sounds like it makes sense and maybe it’s really true….

So I bought a pre-owned electric tea kettle from a woman off of Craigslist this morning.  It was cheap (yay!) and used (yay! less waste in the landfill), it doesn’t have an auto-shutoff feature (yay! I don’t want that when I’m trying to steam part of a hat), it works beautifully, and saved me even more pointless research comparing one new brand of tea kettle to another. 

I went to her house, paid her the money, shook her little boy’s hand (he left his cereal at the breakfast table to come greet me with a polite handshake – too cute!), and brought the tea kettle to its new home in my studio.  Here’s the puzzling part.  When I told her what I planned to use it for, she not only seemed nonplussed, she actually sounded a little weirded out, like she was thinking, “Why is this freak telling me this??”

The only reason I told her was because I thought it was an interesting story.  I wasn’t trying to get a new client, I didn’t give her a business card, I don’t plan to contact her again (I’m not a stalker).  I just figured if the roles were reversed, I know I would find it fascinating 1) to meet a milliner (we’re a rare breed), and 2) to find out that my former tea kettle would aid in the creation of many lovely new hats. 

Now that’s a link in the chain of a good story, is it not?  Hey, I should probably write it in the description of the hats I make using my new (to me) magic tea kettle!

As always, please feel free to comment on this post below.  If you like what you see here, subscribe to this blog for more great millinery stuff!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

