Skip to content

Hat of the Day Sketch – Joy Scott teardrop hat, 2006

March 2, 2010

Today’s hat is copied from a photograph in The Hat Magazine from 2006 which featured several articles about Chicago milliners.  Joy Scott’s mint green felt teardrop hat caught my eye so I gave it a whirl in the sketch pad. I also bought more India ink and more sketch pads so will be playing with my fun new materials from now on!

So back to the hat.  I love the color — a soft mint green that reminds me of those mints you get at weddings that melt into nothing on your tongue.  I love the simplicity of the leaves and the classic style of the pearl spray.  This must be great fun to wear at a springtime event!

Joy Scott teardrop hat, 2006

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joy Scott permalink
    April 5, 2010 11:00 pm

    Hi there!

    Someone googled me and sent me this link! I was very flattered that you chose to sketch my design. Great job and thanks!

    • April 5, 2010 11:40 pm

      Hi, Joy!

      I read an article about you in a back issue of The Hat Magazine and was inspired to draw your hat. Time constraints prevent me from doing really detailed drawings most of the time so my drawing of your hat didn’t get fleshed out as much as I would have liked, but I’m glad that you enjoyed it! We Dallas-area milliners aspire to grow into as strong and prolific a group you Chicago milliners. I hope business in Chicago is booming and please do keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

