Skip to content

Faux Fur / Hat of the Day Sketch – leopard print hat, 1950s

February 2, 2010

Let’s talk about faux fur for a minute.  First of all, word on the street has it that some apparel marked “faux fur” is falsely labeled and is using fur from dogs and other animals, many of whom are skinned alive.  That’s really bad karma, people.

One way I determine if fur is faux is by looking at the tips of the hairs – if they’re pointy, avoid them, they’re probably real.  If they’re blunt and the hairs break in a synthetic, plastic way, they’re probably safe.  Even better, try to dig down to the “root” of the hairs to see if there’s animal hide under the hair or if it’s a woven base.  Either way, I know when I use faux fur that it’s truly faux because I see it in its pre-fabricated state.

I am an animal lover but I also eat meat in moderation and I’m not completely opposed to fur if it’s vintage or ethically sourced – i.e. the animal was killed for food, was humanely slaughtered, and the hide didn’t go to waste.  However, unless you live in a truly frigid climate, I personally don’t feel you need to wear fur.  (If you’ve seen any of the videos showing how the fur industry kills those beautiful animals, you’re probably opposed to fur, too….)

That’s just my two cents.

faux leopard hat with liripipe ribbons, 1950s

faux leopard hat with liripipe tails, 1950s

On a more happy train of thought, check out this funky faux fur leopard print hat from the 1950s.  When I flipped to it in my book this morning, I was more intrigued than enchanted, but it kind of grew on me.

I can picture myself all dolled up at a ski lodge bar with my husband sipping Bailey’s-spiked hot cocoa and wearing this purrrfect hat.  (Sorry.  Couldn’t resist the Eartha Kitt impulse.)

Cheers!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

